script. et comp. temp. Hen. 2di , he adds that the see of Kilfenora was held by Bernard Adams 1606-17, John Steere 1617-21, William Murray 1621-8, and James Heygate 1630-8 . Acquired by the British Museum along with the rest
fols 4*, 5* Homilies , s. xi 2 (?) Fragments of the homilies on 'Stephen' and 'The Assumption of St. John' from ~x00e6~lfric's First Series of Catholic Homilies , found in the binding of a cartulary. Parchment 260 151 224
left at the end. Unknown. Ker (1957, p. 457) observes: 'The manuscript was given to Stonyhurst College by the Rev. John Middlehurst, S. J. Previously it had been bought from a pedlar for 2 s . 6 d '. Short
Latin, fols 114v-15v, 147 ( Ker 1957 , pp. 47-48). Matthew: fols 2-45 v Mark: fols 46-71/12 Luke: fols 73-114 John: fols 116/147/15 The West-Saxon translation of the Gospels. See Ker for description Pr. Skeat 1871-87 (Referred to as Corp.
e GREGORIES se mid grecum crissostomas ys haten' Scribe 3 . Liuzza 1995 , p. 18. fols 135r-173r Gospel of John 'In principio erat erat uerbum' 'Her onginð þæt godspell þe Iohannes se godspellere ge ƿrat on pathmos þam eigtlande.'
Two letters from John Jewel, bishop of Salisbury , to Matthew Parker , dated January 1568 , were pasted on to fol. 149v when Ker examined this manuscript. The letters are printed in The Works of John Jewel (vol. 8,
to Archbishop Matthew Parker . It then belonged to his son, John Parker , whose signature is on the pastedown: it is no. 44 in the list of John Parker's manuscripts in London, Lambeth Palace, 737. Bequeathed to Trinity College
number of Northern saints' days marked in the calendar, it has been traditionally ascribed a Northern provenance. The presence of John of Beverley (Archbishop of York , d. 721) and Paulinus (Bishop of York , d. 644) in the Litany
which stand alone on the bottom line. The endleaf recto contains: In the name of Gregory Pryse , son of John Prise (1502/3-1555). Names on the verso of the front flyleaf include Edmond North . The bottom margin of fol.
1865) Graham, Timothy, and Andrew G. Watson, The Recovery of the Past in Early Elizabethan England: Documents by John Bale and John Joscelyn from the Circle of Matthew Parker , Cambridge Bibliographical Society Monograph, 13 vols (Cambridge: Cambridge Bibliographical Society,
location of Kenelmâ€™s head. Alongside it, in the margin, is a Latin note of s. xiii, giving the author as John de Cella , abbot 1195-1214, and repeating the English note in Latin. Ker 1957 notes that the English and
with reference to facsimiles and published scholarship. Manuscript not consulted directly. Earle, John, ed., Gloucester Fragments (London: Longman, 1861) - Facsimiles of fols 1-3v and 6r. Earle, John, ed., Gloucester Fragments (London: Longman, 1861) Gneuss, Helmut, Handlist of Anglo-Saxon Manuscripts:
possible' that the manuscript was also written there (p. 24). The provenance is unknown. The manuscript might have belonged to John Dee (1528-1608), but there is no proof of his ownership (See Lucas 1997 , p. 24). The manuscript came
Southampton , suggests that the booklets were brought together for the first time in the 16th century. Unknown. Belonged to John Parker , Archbishop Parker 's son: part of number 40 in the list of his manuscripts in Lambeth Palace
xii/xiii The four Gospels in the West Saxon translation: Mark (fols 1-28), Luke (fols 29-61, 63-77), Matthew (fols 78-126), and John (fols 128-67). As Skeat 1874 first noticed, Luke 16.14 ealle - 17.1 leorningcnihtum is missing (fol. 61v), which shows
of contents by one of his scribes; there is a note by his secretary, John Joscelyn on fol. 13r and the signature of his son, John Parker is written in red pencil on fol. 2r. This manuscript is from Exeter
ed., Historia Brittonum cum additamentis Nennii , Monumenta Germaniae Historica, Auctorum Antiquissimorum, 13, Chronica Minora, 3. (Berlin: Weidmann, 1898) Morris, John, ed., Nennius, British History and The Welsh annals , History from the Sources, 8 (London and Chichester: Phillimore; Totowa,
to the End of the Reign of Henry VII , Rolls Series, 26 (London: Longman, 1871), vol. 3 Le Patourel, John, 'The Reports on the Trial on Penendon Heath', in Studies in Medieval History Presented to Frederick Maurice Powicke ,
427-28 Graham, Timothy, and Andrew G. Watson, The Recovery of the Past in Early Elizabethan England: Documents by John Bale and John Joscelyn from the Circle of Matthew Parker , Cambridge Bibliographical Society Monograph, 13 vols (Cambridge: Cambridge Bibliographical Society,
eccl esi astica . He has also underlined names and marginal annotations throughout ( O'Brien O'Keeffe 2003 , p. 1). John Joscelyn (1529-1603) filled in lacunae in the Chronicle at the years 1055, 1065 and 1066, added Humbran and mid